Here we go again…..

Well, I started a blog last year, wrote about two posts and then stopped. Yes, felt intimidated by all the amazing math bloggers out there. But here I am again. And I’ve just decided that I am not going to worry. I’m just going to write. Because I want to reflect on my practice and I also want to share all the ideas that I have learned from other bloggers.

I didn’t really leave….I have been actively spying. I love the MathTwitterBlogosphere because it is my professional development. I remain a fervent follower because like the Big Marker tagline says, I don’t want my class to “suck the energy from students”.

I have learned (and stolen) a lot of ideas and lessons. I remember reading a post that suggested the book Steal Like An Artist by Austin Kleon. steal like an artist I haven’t read this book yet, but it’s on my list.

In addition to my goal of keeping this blog going this time, I do solemnly swear to comment more on blogger’s posts and give thanks. For right now I’d just like to say thanks to Julie Reulbach for all your posts and wiki ideas, Fawn Nguyen for everything especially ideas on problem-solving, Sarah Rubin for all your ideas for Interactive Notebooks, Dan Meyer for the 3-Act Tasks and Sarah Hagan for her great ideas and lessons.

The TWBOS is so amazing because it is where I first learned about SBG. Because of the multitudes of posts that I read, including Sam Shah, Shawn Cornally and the book Formative Assessment and Standards-Based Grading: Classroom Strategies that Work by Robert J. Marzano, I have changed my grading completely. WOW. Yes the BTOS is life changing. Okay so that’s it for now….that’s what I’ve learned from the MTBOS and I’m hoping to keep it going…

4 comments on “Here we go again…..

  1. zacksg1 says:

    Welcome back! It is great that you will continue blogging. I am also a big fan of Dan Meyer’s 3-Act tasks!

  2. bstockus says:

    I hear you about feeling intimidated by all the other bloggers out there, but at the same time, I’ve also taken the same advice of just writing. If other people read what I have to say, great. If they don’t, that’s great, too. I’m just glad that I’ve made a place where I’m recording my thoughts so I can return to them whenever I want to. Best of luck to you keeping it going this time!

  3. I’ll echo Zack’s welcome back! The MTBoS is definitely an (unintenionally) intimidating place (because the people are smart, funny and amazing, not because they are actually intimidating). I really like that you’re giving shout-outs to people’s blogs who you follow.

  4. Kate says:

    Awesome! Congrats on the return to blogging! I found that the more I just write about what’s on my mind at the moment, the better my posts get. I just started blogging myself and it’s a little intimidating out there with so many amazing bloggers.
    Thanks for the book idea… it’s now on my “to-buy” list. 🙂
    Good luck over the next few weeks!

Leave a Reply

